Empower Girls

At its very heart, Girls Inc. of NYC is about offering girls the opportunity to discover their intellectual and emotional strengths. We celebrate and empower girls!

  • spacer
  • spacer

Girls Inc. delivers life-changing programs that inspire girls to be strong, smart and boldsm.

Research-based curricula, delivered by trained professionals, equip girls to achieve academically; lead healthy and physically active lives; manage money; navigate media messages; and discover an interest in science, technology, engineering, and math. We are a member of the network of independent Girls Inc. affiliate organizations located in 350 cities across the United States and Canada.

What we do

  • Challenge girls to discover and fulfill their potential
  • Foster gender equity in a positive way
  • Show girls that they can access all worlds, from the science lab to the boardroom  
  • Inspire girls to take pride in success
  • Take a community-minded approach that inspires girls to “give back,” locally and globally


Our Programs

  • Offer a safe haven for girls aged 6 to 18
  • Are well researched and created by educators and experts in many fields
  • Are age-appropriate and include many subjects, both academic and personal
  • Offer invaluable lessons in essential life skills, including financial self-support 
  • Offer non-threatening, respectful environments in which girls take risks and learn about themselves
  • Inspire girls to be role models for other girls
  • Build on girls’ strengths and help girls develop self-esteem
  • Inspire dedication to life-long learning


mission

The Mission of Girls Inc. of New York City is to advocate for and improve the lives of under-served girls aged 6 to18 in the five boroughs.  We pursue this mission by providing gender-based educational programs in the areas of math; science; health and safety; financial literacy; and multicultural appreciation.  We provide programs directly or in partnership with other organizations.  As an independent affiliate of the Girls Inc. national organization, our commitment is to inspire all girls to be strong, smart and boldsm!

We aim to accomplish our mission through the following goals:

  • Provide educational programs to underserved school-aged girls in areas where traditional curricula often fall short of encouraging girls to be their best; especially in math and science, economic literacy, and respecting and appreciating people of other cultures.
  • Encourage girls to attend college or obtain advanced technical training and develop skills that will afford them economic independence and future security, and to postpone childbearing until they are psychologically, economically, and physically prepared to care for children of their own.
  • Teach girls to identify and be discerning about both overt and subliminal negative images (ranging from a lack of leadership ability and the victim role to portraying women and girls as sex objects) that workplaces, media, and society often project on girls and women.
  • Help girls attain emotional and physical well being through programs that stress the importance of self confidence and inner strength; anger management and non-violent self-defense; and healthy nutritional and physical patterns of behavior.     
  • Deliver programs directly or in partnerships with others (community based organizations, city agencies, schools and corporations) to reach as many girls as possible, to have a a positive impact on their development.

 


history

Girls Incorporated of New York City is an independent affiliate of Girls Inc.® , a national youth development organization. Created in 1993 to listen to and support New York City girls, we began as the Urban Girls Initiative-New York. In 1999 we gained status as a 501(c)3 and a separate, incorporated nonprofit organization.Our organization was created to bring national expertise in youth programming to urban girls aged 6 to 18, with the following objectives:

 

  • Increase the number of inner city, low-income girls who benefit from Girls Inc. programming. 
  • Adapt Girls Inc. programs to the needs of urban girls.
  • Train local staff from a variety of settings in the philosophy and programming of Girls Inc.
  • Learn from our implementation efforts in a variety of settings, and provide technical assistance and networking opportunities to participating organizations.
  • Create a self-sustaining, independent affiliate, headed by an executive director working with staff and a locally appointed board.
  • Respond to the needs of urban girls through vigorous outreach, excellent programming and advocacy

The positive response and great success of our programs and services led us to incorporate as the separate, nonprofit corporation known as Girls Incorporated of New York City. We are proud to serve over 2,500 girls each year in collaboration with our network of partner organizations. Delivering our programs in 22 neighborhoods and over 30 different sites throughout the New York City, we continue to inspire girls to be strong, smart and boldsm.


FINANCIAL INFORMATION

2014 Auditor's Report

2013 Auditor's Report

2012 Auditor's Report

FY 2012-13 Annual Report

2011 Auditor's Report

2010 Auditor's Report

Click here to visit the Girls Incorporated of New York City page on GuideStar.com and view Form 990.

PDF files require Adobe's Acrobat Reader to view. If you encounter any difficulties downloading the Annual Reports, please email info@girlsincnyc.org.

 

Administration

 

Pamela Maraldo, PhD

Chief Executive Officer
Pamela@girlsincnyc.org

 

Yohanna De Los Santos

Director of Development

Yohanna@girlsincnyc.org

Patricia Jacovina

Director of Operations

Patricia@girlsincnyc.org

 

Chaun Lewis

Volunteer Coordinator

Chaun@girlsincnyc.org

 

Melissa D'Andrea

Director of Programs

Melissa@girlsincnyc.org

Chi-Ante Singletary

Operations Coordinator

Chi@girlsincnyc.org

 

Program

 

Kree Cason

Co-Program Director - SONYC

Kree@girlsincnyc.org

Millicen Perez

Program Coordinator

millicen@girlsincnyc.org

Thea Charles

G³ Project Director

Thea@girlsincnyc.org

Sofia Quintero

Program Director - SONYC

sofia@girlsincnyc.org

 

Joanne Dieudonne

Program Coordinator

joanne@girlsincnyc.org

Corinne Santiago

Co-Program Director - SONYC

Corinne@girlsincnyc.org

Krizia Gardner

Program Director - SONYC

Krizia@girlsincnyc.org

Isake Smith

Program Coordinator

Isake@girlsincnyc.org

 

Brandi Kilbourne

Program Director - SONYC

Brandi@girlsincnyc.org

Nicole Souvinier

Program Coordinator

nicole@girlsincnyc.org

Christy Martinez

Outreach Coordinator

christym@girlsincnyc.org

 

Siobhan Vega

Program Coordinator

siobhan@girlsincnyc.org

Tiffani Nikole

Program Coordinator
Tiffani@girlsincnyc.org

 

Kelly Yarn-Diaz

Program Coordinator

kelly@girlsincnyc.org

 

BOARD MEMBERS


Elaine Hutchins Ball, Chair

Jasmine Khalili Barr, Vice-Chair
Charmaine Slack, Secretary
Carolyn J. Cole, Treasurer

Terri Austin
Bertina Ceccarelli
Cecile E. Gyles
Maria Jelescu
Angie Karna

Camille Mantelin
Jennifer Morgan
Kyung-Ah Park
Susan F. Pollack
Margaret Rienecker
Stephanie Ruhle

Daphne Surpris

 

JUNIOR BOARD MEMBERS

Johanna Bowman, Co-Chairs
Margaret Ryan, Co-Chairs

Cheridan Austin, Secretary

Jackie Bennett, Treasurer

Rossmery Barzey
Kendra Bradley
Michelle Dalzon
Annemarie Goodman
Hawwa Muhammad
Rekha Nayar
Nicole Patterson
Kira Roeloffs
Devon Rudberg
Rosann Santos-Elliot
Alle Schwartz
Kimberly Shannon